Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
17 août 2011 3 17 /08 /août /2011 21:23

86898565_563dab2319.jpgWhen I was a teenager, there was a strange book belonging to my best friend's brother. It had a strange cover with wizard on it.

 

Seeing that I was attracted to the book, he lent it to me. I discovered Rincewind the wizard and one of the first Disc World Book by Terry Pratchett. It was fun and fascinating.

 

As I grew, I read books from Terry as he was releasing them. I saw his style changing. Terry started to describe a world that was shaped as people think it should be.

A world made of prejudices, where the earth was a flat disk and so explorers that wanted to prove that it was round went overboard and falled into space. No Christophe Colomb here.

And so I read about people living with their prejudices, I laught at them, realising at the same time that we are behaving the same way as these stupid caracter.

 

Terry was describing people and humanity and althought his world should have stayed in past, it was pushed by people to modern civilisation.

 

Lately, I noticed that he was not releasing anymore books. On june 2011, he annonced that he had started an assisted suicide process because he has Alzheimer.

He is trying to finish a last book were he would describe his choice. I suspect that he has troubles to finish this book. I tought that I might wright an article with his caracters showing him with humour simple facts and prejudices. But I have not his ability.

 

I will tell it with my own words and it maybe the conclusion he wants for his last book.

It is in our nature to die and the world will go on after us. Often, the sand is falling faster than we think when we love life.

This book is about life and end of life, it will be perfectly normal for someone had to finish it after you, you have friends and a daughter with a sense of humour she might have inherited from her mother :)

 

For my part and probably many readers, I'd like to thank you for all the fun and wisdom you poured into me. Some of it may I have missed its target, but nobody's perfect.

 

And as Death would say:

FAREWELL

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

A
<br /> Une émotion très touchante, et que je partage.<br /> <br /> Je me permets de relever quelques fautes de frappes qui gênent la lecture :<br /> therry > Terry<br /> anD One of the first<br /> lend > lent<br /> wHere the Earth<br /> falled > fell<br /> laught > laughed<br /> cHaracterS<br /> althought> although<br /> I tHought<br /> I might wright> write<br /> normal for someone had to > that someone has to / for someone to have to<br /> Some of it may *I* have<br /> <br /> N'hésitez pas à effacer ce commentaire une fois qu'il a fait son office !<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
B
<br /> <br /> Effectivement que de coquilles ;) merci à vous<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />